Music Department Calendar

2017-2018

 

Christopher Johnson, professor of music and associate dean of the School of Fine Arts, University of Kansas, completed a report, recently published in the Journal of Research in Music Education which said that the quality of music programs relates to participating students’ test scores.

As for Johnson’s thoughts on the possible explanations for his research findings, he said that music demands discipline and intensity, skills that can transfer over to other aspects of students’ lives.

“There is a high level of contingency on being focused and concentrating and doing it right,” he said. “There’s also a need for making it perfect.”

JPS Music Department Concerts and Events

Jamestown High School Concert Orchestra


Wednesday, Nov. 15, 2017 - JHS Music Department Pasta Dinner

    & Concert - 4:30-6:30 PM and 7:00 performance

Thursday, December 21, 2017 - Holiday Tour - 7:00 PM

    (at Lakewood Mall, Sears concourse)

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - Spring Concert - 7:00 PM

Tuesday, June 5, 2018 -  Awards Concert - 7:00 PM


Jamestown High School Concert & Symphonic Bands


Wednesday, Nov. 15, 2017 - JHS Music Department Pasta Dinner &   

    Concert - 4:30-6:30 PM and 7:00 performance

Saturday, January 20, 2018 - Winter Band Concert - 7:00 PM

Saturday, May 5, 2018 - Spring Band Concert - 7:00 PM


Jamestown High School Choirs


Wednesday, Nov. 15, 2017 - JHS Music Department Pasta Dinner &   

    Concert - 4:30-6:30 PM and 7:00 performance

Sunday, December 10 and Sunday, December 17, 2017 -

    A Cappella Vespers - 4:00 PM (First Lutheran Church, free will

    offering will be accepted)

Saturday, May 12, 2018 - Annual Spring Choral Concert - 7:00 PM

    ($4.00 presale, $5.00 at the door, students and children will be

    admitted free when accompanied by an adult)

Madrigal performances - TBA


Jefferson Middle School Ensembles


Wednesday, December 20, 2017 - Winter Concert - 7:00 PM

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - Spring Concert - 7:00 PM



Persell Middle School Ensembles



Tuesday, December 12, 2017 - Winter Concert - 7:00 PM

Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - Spring Concert - 7:00 PM

Thursday, May 31, 2018 - Lawn Social - 4:30 - 7:30 PM

Thursday, June 14th, 2018 - Orchestra Awards Concert - 7:00 PM




Washington Middle School Ensembles


Tuesday, December19, 2017 - Winter Concert - 7:00 PM

Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - Spring Concert - 7:00 PM